Fighter Jockey Identified

That low-flying fighter plane that was terrorizing the East Side (my wife said it shook the house) is an F-18 Hornet from Oceana Naval Station, Virginia.  They are “are in the area performing flyovers for the Detroit APBA Gold Cup Races happening this weekend in Detroit, at the request of the event sponsors” according to to the 127th Wing, ANG headquarters at Selfridge ANG base.  Wish they’d alerted us ahead of time. (Didn’t that dopey photo op of Air Force one by the Statue of Liberty teach ’em anything?)  Here’s an F-18 breaking the sound barrier.

f18Photo by John Gay

Here’s a photo of a Gold Cup Hydroplane I remember watching from my golden youth, as I stood on the now mostly collapsed docks of the Detroit Boat Club.

bardah1Gotta love that enormous V-12

The big boats are all powered by turbines these days. They just sound boring.  Another favorite was Miss Chrysler, powered by two blown Hemis and running on some exotic fuel. (At least it smelled that way.)

history0386Miss Chrysler Crew

I’d ride down to see the races today, but have to do yard work instead.

7 thoughts on “Fighter Jockey Identified

  1. Today marks my first visit to your blog, and I’m enjoying it, especially the photo of Chrysler Crew.

    I write about Chrysler things for Mopar Magazine (also freelance in books such as Hot Rod Magazine).

    I love the Allison, Merlin and Griffon-powered unlimited hydroplanes, but Chrysler Crew is one of my favorites because of the Hemi engines. We have few photos of the boat. Did you take this one? Do you have any others?

    Roger

  2. I just noticed your link to the Lansdowne of Windsor. Just today I saw a clock from the Lansdowne in the home of a new acquaintance!

  3. The Allison and Merlin are different engines. The Allison Division of General Motors developed the Allison, and Rolls-Royce separately created the Merlin. Packard built the U.S.-made version of the Merlin. The Griffon engine is a bigger and more powerful version of the Merlin. Bernie Little cornered the market for Griffons so he could have exclusive use of the engine in his Miss Budweiser hydroplanes. I once took video of Miss Bud clawing its way around the Roostertail Turn, bellowing and flinging huge plumes of water everywhere. It was spectacular.

  4. I too lost interest when the vacuums took over. I remember Detroit River Unlimited racing from it’s heydays of the late 50’s and early 60’s. I met Bob Hayworth once whenever I was about 8 or 9. I guess auto engines are all that’s left. I think those would be better than the current engines.

Leave a Reply

