Memorial Day

First off, let me assure you I know the difference between Memorial Day and Veterans’ Day. Memorial Day seems to have evolved into taking on the larger role of remembering veterans, those who died in battle, and currently serving members of our armed forces. That’s how I choose to think of it.

I stopped at the Elmwood Cemetery today. It’s on the TDH. Here are some of the memorial markers I spotted for those who served our country.

clarence stokes

debaptist

leetramble

robert dowe

sam coyl

william coyl

stephenlewis

williequarles

I also rode by the former Veterans Memorial building downtown.  I  got mugged here when I was 12. Today it’s a Ford/UAW building – for reasons I neither know nor can explain.

vetsmemorial

Finally, here’s a photo I took when Jennifer, Spencer and I visited Normandy a couple of years ago – it’s the American Cemetery, which you may recognize from the beginning of Saving Private Ryan.

normandy

I don’t know why we choose to celebrate Memorial Day by cooking something outside – but maybe it’s because all these people made it possible for us to do so.  Peace.

One thought on “Memorial Day

Leave a Reply

