Well, slap me with a fish and call me a salmon ladder.

I have no idea what that means. It also has nothing to do with what I am going to write next. This morning on the tour, I crossed the former railroad tracks near 1300 Lafayette. Lo and behold, the promised rail-to-trail route is actually near opening. I sneaked over the fence for a quick preview.

I can’t find anything online about it, so forgive me if this is old news. Anyway, it’s lovely. The part I saw is so unlike Detroit, I was stunned. New pavement, lights, landscaping, for God’s sake. Three lanes.

Well, it still has some Detroit-ish features. The railroad tracks have been abandoned for some time, the bridges over the trail are shedding concrete, and every bridge has graffiti all over it. There also seems to be a running battle between FEIS and MARM as to who’s the king tagger. I’d call it a draw. And one graffito says “Dead Crack Head”. I don’t know if that’s an observation, an obituary, or a warning. You’ll have to go see and decide for yourself. I’ll get some photos next week.

One thought on “Well, slap me with a fish and call me a salmon ladder.

Leave a Reply

